Can I eat this? February 2010

Again, it’s time for a round-up of my favorite informal category of questions from the archives of Ask Metafilter. In this collection of Can I eat it? questions, the subsets are a little fuzzy. Fuzzy with mold? Well, that too.

asking for trouble?
– “I’ve got a stew that might be just a little bit too old, maybe four or five days old. It doesn’t smell funny or anything.”

- “ShouldIEatIt Filter: We both ate the same thing. He threw up, I’m fine. Is it OK to eat the leftovers?”

the outdoors is not a refrigerator
– “I have some delicious leftover Vietnamese food that has a lot of seafood in it, but no room for me to put it in my minibar. Can I keep this on my window ledge outside overnight and eat it in the morning without having to worry about spoilage?”

- “beef rib roast left out overnight at 50-60 degrees farenheit — any chance it’s still edible?”

- “I just received some delicious-looking raw-milk cheese in the mail. It was room temperature. It does not appear molded. It is shrink-wrapped.”

nor is the kitchen counter
– “Should I Eat This? Filter: cooked black beans left in a pot overnight.

- “sometimes I make about 1.5 gallons of soup in a big pot [...] I leave it in the pot on the stove to cool. In the morning I pour it into tupperware and put it into the fridge.”

and sometimes, the refrigerator is not a refrigerator
– “I took the chicken (4 boneless, skinless breasts) from the freezer, put it into the fridge to thaw on Monday. It was still frozen by Monday’s dinner, so I figured I would cook it Tuesday. Tuesday the power went out at the house for 2 hours.” [Ed.: note that the question was posted on Thursday.]

scary dairy
– “my mother used to put a few drops of hydrogen peroxide in milk to keep it fresh past the ‘use by’ date. it appears to work. very well. what’s the chemistry behind this? and should i drink it?”

- “What sort of dairy product did I inadvertently create?”

poolish!
– “Can I keep a batch of poolish in the fridge for a few days, or do I start over?”

animal crackers
– “The good news: My beloved grandma sent me a package of the special cookies she only makes at Christmastime once every couple of years. I love these cookies. The bad news: While the package was sitting on my stoop, the squirrels ripped into the package and chewed open the plastic bag the cookies were in.”

- “Can I still eat this steak even though ants have already partaken?

won’t somebody think of the children?
– “If I eat mussels steamed in beer am I putting my unborn baby at risk of birth defects or fetal alcohol syndrome?”

the ever-popular category of unexpectedly green foodstuffs
– “If your potatoes turn green, can you safely turn them back to brown?”

- “I adapted a peanut butter cookie recipe: included the sunflower seed butter (which has a few seeds in it), margarine, flour, baking soda, sugar, salt and one egg. When they first came out, they looked normal inside, though they were more cakey than crispy. By two hours later, any part of the cookie not exposed to air turned a deep shade of green.

not-food is not food
– “[...] My question is, If this stuff is 100% cocoa butter, why can’t I eat it? What will happen if I do?”

- “Has anyone ever eaten those marshmallow baits that you see in bait shops? If so, how were they?”

OH HELL YES, EAT IT
– “Should I eat it? Duck fat from one week ago. [...] There is now a brick of cooked duck fat with a small layer of the meaty dripping trapped underneath.”

3 thoughts on “Can I eat this? February 2010

Leave a Reply

