Something to look forward to!

Today in my archaeology lab, we reassembled disarticulated fish skeletons, which was much more fun than it sounds. (Well, it would almost have to be, wouldn’t it?) I was assigned Hippoglossus hippoglossus, the Atlantic halibut.

During this task, I learned (or relearned — it has the ring of a fact distantly known, as in early childhood) that H. hippoglossus is born with an eye on each side of its head, and as it ages the left eye migrates over the top of the head to the right side of the face.

I’ve tried to accept philosophically the inevitable changes that come with age, but I am in no way prepared for this.

2 thoughts on “Something to look forward to!

  1. Hey E, I’m thinking of turning off the comments because at some point I have to face the fact that it’s just you and me reading and writing this. Do we turn them off and rejoice at no longer seeing the little “Comments (0)”? Or shall we leave it open for my mother who checks in from time to time?

Comments are closed.