biblio

So many bloggers keep a pretty sidebar with links to “Books I’m Reading!”, and I love to see that, since my usual broad-spectrum foraging technique for contemporary fiction is woefully unfocused. I typically go into the library and fling myself toward the new fiction shelves, castigating myself for not writing down that author’s name and hoping I can find something promising in the ten minutes before my bus is due.

I’d love to maintain a “current reading” sidebar myself, truly I would, but with the quantities of texts I’m reading for classes and research, it simply isn’t feasible to be entering and linking them here. No, really.

No, really.


But I wanted to post a few, if only once. Here is a partial list of the texts I plan to read, scan, or skim over the next five days for two research projects. The list is partial in that I have only listed the books I have in hand at the time of this entry, not the texts I will pick up tomorrow from interlibrary loan or the exciting foray into the periodical stacks, where I will be claiming such beauties as The Journal of Radical Political Economics. Of course, this excludes my basic readings for classes, and we should all keep in mind that I have barely started reading for my third research topic.

Ha! I’m kidding! We don’t all need to keep that in mind! Just me.

my weekend reading:

Barnes, D.R. Matters of taste: Food and drink in seventeenth-century Dutch art and life.
Bauer, D.G. The “how to”grants manual: Successful grantseeking techniques for obtaining public and private grants.
Belcher, M. Exhibitions in museums.
Brown, C. Images of a golden past: Dutch genre painting of the seventeenth century.
Cantwell, A., and D. diZerega Wall. Unearthing Gotham: The archaeology of New York.
Carmel, J.H. Exhibition techniques, traveling and temporary.
Chepp, M. Low-life in the lowlands: Seventeenth century Dutch and Flemish genre painting.
Fisher, S. W. English ceramics; earthenware, Delft, stoneware, cream-ware, porcelain, including a section on Welsh factories.
Fleming, D., C. Paine, and J.G. Rhodes. Social history in museums: a handbook for professionals.
Franits, W.E. Dutch seventeenth-century genre painting: Its stylistic and thematic evolution.
Franits, W.E. Paragons of virtue: Women and domesticity in seventeenth-century Dutch art.
Golden, S.L. Secrets of successful grantsmanship: a guerrilla guide to raising money.
High, G.R. Getting funded: The art of writing successful proposals.
Hopkins, K.B., and C.S. Friedman. Successful fundraising for arts and cultural organizations.
Lewis, R.H. Manual for museums.
Macdonald, A. L. No idle hands : The social history of American knitting.
Mojzer, M. Dutch genre paintings.
Rose, P.G. The sensible cook: Dutch foodways in the Old and the New World.
Runyard, S., and Y. French. The marketing and public relations handbook for museums, galleries, and heritage attractions.
Safner, I. The weaving Roses of Rhode Island.
Witteborg, L.P. Good show!: A practical guide for temporary exhibitions.

And, the last text I have the heart to list, although not even close to the last text I’ll be reading this week. The title says it all:
To toil the livelong day : America’s women at work, 1780-1980.

2 thoughts on “biblio

  1. Oh my, I think I’ll go collapse now. J-M is also reading a lot — he woke up at 3 to get started for the day. You’ve got quite a load there and still manage to write longer e-mails than I, the one who sits here making flash cards of the Greek alphabet for her loved ones.

  2. Yeah, after I posted this I thought how whiny and oh poor me it sounded, but I didn’t mean it that way… Okay, maybe a bit. But I have no right to complain; at least, unlike J-M’s philosophy texts, my reading is grounded in some tangible reality and I can understand it. I am in awe of philosophers.

Leave a Reply

