Garden fin

There are times when I desperately wish I could speak Swiss-German. Unfortunately it’s only a spoken language, not written except in informal notes and e-mails, sometimes also in advertising. And even then there are no hard and fast rules to cling to. Swiss-German speakers read and write in High German, which after 6 years, I am still learning. I make so many mistakes and cannot express myself beyond formulaic expressions. And I feel woefully inadequate. I feel even worse at parties at which I am hostess and utter a mere ten words throughout the whole evening. But I set a pretty table.
photo
From left: The blur is JM, my husband; next is our gardener and builder, Hans, who helped envision the whole thing; then one of his co-workers, and finally my brother-in-law, who also laboured manually throughout the whole project.

