long story, short version

I haven’t been here much this winter. In that time, there has been sorrow, stress, loss, comfort, love, and simple banal illness.

Yeesh, I’ve been so ill. Nothing dramatic or serious, just a boring, bone-aching bout of influenza. The kind of sick that makes your teeth hurt. So sick that I was tempted to salt every meager mouthful, including the liters and liters of ginger ale.

You know a man is sweet when he sticks around during the flu, or when he strokes the matted fur of your family’s much loved cat and insists with some ire that the boney old wraith does not stink. If he does both on the same night, he is beyond sweet.

To sum up: I’ve been sick, and I’ve been grieving. All better now… for now.

One thought on “long story, short version

Comments are closed.