Grunt grunt

Recent conversation with friend
Sus: Growing up on a farm is great — you learn so much. Mice get eaten, cats get buried, you have to kill the cow for the meat.
Elli: So pretty much everything dies.
Sus: Yeah.
On that bright note, I’m reluctant to inform you that we now live on a camel farm just outside town. Nothing has died yet, except a few bugs and ants upon my arrival. The wonderful border collie now recognizes the car and herds us to our parking space. The camels grunt. The tin roof pops under the intense sun. A small bird keeps trying to hop through the sliding glass window that I cleaned yesterday. I have no internet connection and no phone reception. This is a new world.

4 thoughts on “Grunt grunt

  1. It’s so good to hear from you and receive your update. We were wondering if you had been deported. Where I was born in the Texas hill country, “they” would place a water sprinkler on top of a tin roof and pretend it was cooler. Enjoy your out back there with new friends. P’

  2. Brief internet time in town. I have flu for the second time this season after JM just recovered. Gah, going back to bed.

  3. I hope you get better and that you both stay healthy. I’m going under the knife again tomorrow morning. Get better so you can post some pics of your new homestead on Flickr. Love you, P’

  4. Alice Springs sounds a lot like Boise…hot and dry. I’ve always wanted to live on a farm. Looking forward to reading about your next adventures. I love your blog by the way!

Comments are closed.