embarrassments

age 14: The high school assigned each new student a locker and a lock, sternly admonishing us to record the combination somewhere safe to avoid the cost and inconvenience that would come if the maintenance staff needed to lop off the original lock and replace it. Confident that my enormous brain could hold a 3-digit combo, I threw away the scrap with the number on it… and promptly forgot the combination. I wasted weeks and weeks muddling along in classes without most of my books and notebooks, hoping to remember the combo before everything was gassed beyond repair by the tuna sandwich also contained therein.

age 17: I struggled in vain against the Krazy Glue with which I had inadvertently (well, duh) bonded my hand to a metal banister in the now-empty rehearsal room, counting the minutes as they ticked away, making me later and later for homeroom.

age 23: Sitting at the counter of my favorite proto-hipster diner, I was chatting away with Terry, one of the servers there. Apropos of nothing, Terry waved vaguely and chirped, “Hey, Elsa, you know Matt, right?” I responded not “Matt, the graphic artist?” or “Matt, Chuck’s friend?” nor even “Gosh, I know a bunch of Matts. Which one?” No. I pealed out, “Matt? Matt with the basketball head? Sure, I know Matt. Why?”

Terry blinked slowly, his face otherwise unchanging. I slowly realized his vague wave was a gesture of reintroduction, just as he announced in measured tones, “Because he’s standing right behind you.”

How I failed to see the shadow cast by his big enormous round head, I’ve never understood.

age 25: I celebrated the bright warm spring day by wearing a (brand-new!) light and gauzy skirt and sweater in soft pastels. My lunch break came along. Eager to enjoy the air and sun, I quickly hit the washroom, then bustled outside. I spent the next thirty minutes walking around the center of town. Just as I exited work, a woman walked up to me, eyes on my skirt, hesitated, then said, “Pretty skirt.” I beamed my thanks.

At the corner, a woman walked up to me, paused, stammered, and finally said, “Pretty skirt!”

In the town square…

In line at the coffee shop…

As I walked down Congress St….

My lunch break drew to a close. Just as I reached the door to my place of work, a woman stepped up to me. I smiled at her, readying myself for the compliment. “Um,” she said, then dropped her voice to a hiss. “Your skirt is tucked up into your waistband.” I reached around to discover that I’d been walking around for 30 minutes with my flanks and one buttock exposed to the fresh spring air.

age 27: On a fine summer day, I propped open the door to the posh boutique where I worked. In the process, I somehow slipped off the doorsill, tumbled onto the sidewalk, and found myself sprawled on the curb, limbs in the street, my fine linen frock tossed up over my head baring my panty-clad bum to the denizens of my small town. I stood up, smoothed down my skirts and frills, waved reassuringly to the small crowd that had assembled (including a car that screeched to a halt a few feet from me, to help or to gawk), and went back to work.

age 38: Donning the fuzzy fuchsia slipper-socks sent (along with an adorable handmade nightie) by my sister, I announced, “These things are slippery. They’ll kill me.” That might sound like hyperbole, but The Fella knows me well enough to hear the truth when it’s spoken: he urged me not to wear them, even for a moment. I scoffed, “Hmmph, I think I can survive one night.” Three minutes later, he heard a series of ominous thumps and slamming sounds, then me meekly calling out, “I’m okay!”

This barely skims the surface of embarrassments. Half-expect this to become a series. Category, even.

3 thoughts on “embarrassments

Leave a Reply

