espousing my virtues and foibles

49

As a 1930s wife, I am
Average

Take the test!

I make a barely adequate 1930s wife, and I’ll tell you why:

– fails to wash the top of the milk bottle before opening it? Yes.

– gives [The Fella] shampoos and manicures? No.

– slows up card game with chatter and gossip? Yes.

– tells risque or vulgar stories? Oh, hell yes — this one time, I told a risque or vulgar story in a burlesque club, when we were between acts, and I … Oh.

I fare much better as a husband.

126

As a 1930s husband, I am
Very Superior

Take the test!

4 thoughts on “espousing my virtues and foibles

  1. I too make a much better husband than wife, interestingly. May have to do with the delight in marital congress! While chewing radishes! No wonder the lines in my stockings are often awry!
    I think it turns out we ALL need a wife. Someone to keep the fridge stocked with snacks. But tell me, is it a + or – to wear red nail polish?

  2. The red polish must be a minus–it leaves red flecks on pretty white walls. At least this is what I noticed after my mother-in-law had been allowed to clean while I was in the States helping out my mother several years ago.

  3. Geez, that reminds me of the book we read one summer when the word “whore” suddenly made a marked appearance in our vocabulary. That and “little chippy”. What was that? The only thing coming to me is “red” and “summer of…”

Leave a Reply

