Sprouts good

It’s 4:30 and I’m counting the hours until I can go to bed. I’ll have to regale you with tails of the MRI tomorrow. For now, here’s something I wrote last night:
________________
DSC_1081Tonight on the menu was Brussels sprouts and carrots over brown rice. I was trawling epicurious for vegetarian recipes and discovered that I had most of the ingredients for this, except shallots and cider vinegar, and for that matter I didn’t want to use butter. I decided to toss everything into my wok with some olive oil and my last onion would have to suffice. (Rice made separately in a cooker.)
Holy cow, sweet Brussels sprouts, where have you been all my life? While you cannot replace my true love, ah broccoli, I do believe we can be good friends. When they’re cooking I can’t imagine putting one in my mouth because of the smell, but when I do get to the table, that first bite is soooo good. I can’t wait to actually try this recipe someday, still maybe not with all the butter.

4 thoughts on “Sprouts good

  1. Brussels sprouts are a relatively new discovery for me. My mom grew some in her garden last summer and I tried eating them just to be nice and sweet mother of pearl, they’re good when they’re not boiled to oblivion!
    That looks like a lovely recipe. Now if only I could turn my husband in for one that doesn’t shun any kind of vinegar in any amount. I never would have realized how drastically that cuts down my cooking options.

  2. Yum… we (mother, aunties and me) do a similar recipe, sans carrots but with pine nuts and a couple tablespoons of maple syrup. And butter – can’t fight the French side of being French-Canadians.
    Now I’ll have to try your recipe.

  3. I’ll add pine nuts next time. Usually I add them to broccoli, but I feel worlds of greens with nuts opening to me now.
    Andrea, I added a dash of Bragg liquid aminos in place of vinegar last time and was quite happy, but then I like the odd stuff.
    Now placing plate of Brussels sprouts down in front of Jane and slowly backing away…

Leave a Reply

